ACICIS Journalism Professional Practicum (JPP) alumni continue to make significant contributions to the news and media industry in Australia. In 2016, JPP alumni have been recognised for their achievements and hard work by The Walkley Foundation, and organisation that celebrates and encourages great Australian journalism, telling the stories of our nation and strengthening our democracy.

Since 2008, the Young Australian Journalist of the Year Award has been highly contested and demonstrated the high level of excellence that young journalists contribute to Australian journalism. This award is open to Australian journalists aged 26 and under, and has continued to celebrate excellence in the fundamental tenets of journalism demonstrated by young Australians.

In the 2016 Young Australian Journalist of the Year awards, two ACICIS alumni have been recognised as finalists. Henry Belot (JPP 2013), a University of Melbourne alumni, is a finalist in the Text-Based Journalism category for his work for the Canberra Times on the following articles: “Soldiers fear drug program has scarred them with depression, anxiety nightmares”, “Mad House of Emotions” and “Labor threatens Senate inquiry into Australian Defence Force’s use of antimalarial drug mefloquine

Jarni Blakkarly (JPP 2015) a student of RMIT University is a finalist in the Student Award category of the Walkleys for his work on “Democracy rising”, “Behind the mask of an emergency” and “Australian cuts to climate change research may hit drive into Asia”.

Read more about the finalists for the 2016 Young Australian Journalist of the Year awards.

The Walkley Foundation also runs The Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship. This scholarship is open to final year University students and recent graduates aged 26 or under who have a passion for TV journalism and want to pursue large goals and to carve out a successful career in Australian television. This Scholarship was established in 2013 with the support of Anita Jacoby, a senior TV produce who wanted to recognise the legacy of her father Phillip Jacoby as a pioneer of Australian broadcasting. This scholarship is a paid internship opportunity, that provides the applicants the opportunity to work with leading Australian news, and current affairs producers and journalists.

This is a 12 week paid internship that includes an 8 week placement at the Nine Network in Sydney, with four weeks at 60 Minutes, two weeks in the Nine Newsroom, and two weeks split between A Current Affair and Today. This is followed by a four week placement at the Walkley Foundation in the lead up to the 60th Walkley Awards for Journalism Excellence. Participating in one TV production course through the Australian Film TV & Radio School (AFTRS) and mentoring from senior journalists on the Walkley Advisory Board are also provided to the winner.

Ellijahna Victoria (JPP 2016) from RMIT University is a finalist for the Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship in 2016.

Last year, 2015 JPP alumna Annalise Bolt, from UNSW Australia, was both shortlisted and then went on to win this prestigious scholarship. Annalise is now the Promo Producer at Nine News Perth.

Read more about the Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship here.

For more information about the JPP visit: Journalism Professional Practicum