The 2021 New Colombo Plan Scholars have been announced with 125 scholarships awarded to students to study in the Indo-Pacific region.

We are delighted to announce that the following 2021 New Colombo Plan Scholars will undertake study in Indonesia through – and with the assistance of – the Australian Consortium for ‘In-Country’ Indonesian Studies (ACICIS). Through their study in Indonesia, these students are set to gain a deeper understanding of of Australia’s near northern neighbour, while developing their Indonesian language and cross-cultural communication skills. We look forward to seeing the contribution made by these 2021 NCP Scholars to the strengthening of the Australia-Indonesia relationship into the future.


Lachlan Colgrave (RMIT University) – West Java Field Study Program, Parahyangan University, Bandung

Marcus McDonald (The University of Sydney) – Flexible Language Immersion ProgramGadjah Mada University, Yogyakarta

Erica Sayon (Monash University) – Flexible Language Immersion ProgramGadjah Mada University, Yogyakarta

Hammad Shahin (La Trobe University) – International Relations ProgramParahyangan University, Bandung

Meg Somers (RMIT University) – Development Studies Immersion ProgramGadjah Mada University, Yogyakarta

Congratulations to all New Colombo Plan Scholars! ACICIS Study Indonesia looks forward to receiving these students on our semester programs in the future.