In August-December 2018 (Semester 47), one student from Australian National University (ANU) will participate in ACICIS’ East Java Field Study (EJFS), Sophie Hewitt, a recipient of the New Colombo Plan Scholarship, will write a thesis on community-based rehabilitation in East Java. Sophie will also take three additional classes at Universitas Muhammadiyah Malang (UMM).

At the start of September, Sophie had the opportunity to attend PESMABA (Pengenalan Studi Mahasiswa Baru – orientation week for new students) held by UMM, as well as the EJFS orientation held by ACICIS and UMM. During PESMBADA, Sophie took part in a flash mob with other UMM new students, and she also had the opportunity to introduce herself to other new students during one of the PESMABA session. During the EJFS orientation, Sophie was welcomed to UMM by the Dean of the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences (FISIP), Dr Rinisko Kartono, M.Si and EJFS consultant at UMM, Dr A. Habib, MA. along with other UMM lecturers who are a part of the EJFS program in the past and present. ACICIS was represented by ACICIS Yogyakarta Program Manager, Ms Sinta Padmi.

Historically, the thesis component of the EJFS was required to be written in Bahasa Indonesia. From this semester onwards, students have the option of completing the report in either Bahasa Indonesia or English, and the students will have the opportunity to attend private classes that are specifically designed to support their research.

ACICIS is very pleased to have a student on the EFJS semester once again. Semester 47 is the first time in two years since a student has undertook the EJFS program. EJFS is the second oldest ACICIS program, launched back in 1995 with the help of Dr A. Habib, MA.

This program allows students to undertake a field study in East Java through UMM. Past students have written reports on topics as diverse as reformasi, gender issues in a developing country and community and governance in remote fishing villages.

ACICIS wishes Sophie the best of luck with her semester in East Java.